Do you need a Maryland state inspection?

 buy Your dream Car?

Two reason that everyone needs a Maryland State vehicle inspection.

J

Move from another State

Unlike other states that mandate annual or bi-annual vehicle inspections, Maryland only requires that your vehicle be inspected  once If your vehicle is registered in another state and you’re seeking to transfer registration to Maryland.

Maryland Residents

If, as a Maryland resident, you buy or receive a used car as part of a transaction, it must pass inspection within 90 days of transferring the title. Even if the car was inspected previously that year, the transaction triggers a need for inspection.

Maryland State Inspections

Is your vehicle in need of a  Maryland State inspection? Bring it to Hi-Tech Auto Repair for a comprehensive MD State inspection and get the passing grade you need to drive legally within the state. We’ll cover all of the essentials and make sure you’re within roadworthy benchmarks before sending you on your way.

And, if there’s a problem at all, count on us to provide the repairs and upgrades necessary to help you pass your car safety inspection. As an authorized Maryland inspection station, we’re equipped to provide repairs that are compliant with the DOT, quickly and affordably for you. Don’t dread your upcoming Maryland vehicle inspection—visit us and put your mind at ease!

WHAT IS TESTED DURING A MARYLAND STATE INSPECTION

-Steering System

-Wheel Alignment

-Brake System

-Wheels & Tires

-Bumpers

-Fuel System

-Exhaust System

-Fenders

-Electrical System

-Mirrors

-Lights

-Glazing (windows)

-Wipers

-Hood & Catches

-Emission Equipment

-Floor Truck Pans

-Safety Belts

-Speedometer

-Odometer

-Universal Joints

-Drivers Seat

-Motor Mounts

-Door Handle Latches

-Gear Shift Indicator

What is a Maryland State Inspection and why you need to have it

Most used vehicles are required by Maryland state Law to endure a safety vehicle examination before its sale or transfer. Generally, the seller or transferrer of the vehicle is mandated to get the Maryland State inspection certificate. The purchase/transferee than submits the Maryland State Inspection certificate to the MVA to register the vehicle. However, if your vehicle is inspected at authorized inspection review station that provides an electronic review (e-inspection), you will not receive a Maryland State certificate. Your Maryland State certificate are going to be electronically sent to the MVA.

The Maryland car inspection is a set of safety standards mandated by the motor vehicles administration to ensure that your vehicle is safe to be on the road. A Maryland state vehicle inspection is required to register any passenger cars, Light trucks and SUV’s and Trailers that are no longer than 20 feet in length without air brakes. There are two main reasons for you to have a Maryland car inspection done. If you have recently purchase a used car from a private owner or have just moved from another state. One of the biggest benefits to Maryland residents is that the state inspection is only required once for the lifetime of your registered vehicle. That does not apply if you sell or transfer the car to anyone else.

Maryland State vehicle Inspections are required to ensure your vehicle is safe to function out on the road. An inspection will cover all major features of your vehicle, including its brakes, exhaust, safety features, lights, steering and more. It also ensures that any vehicle modifications fall within legal limits, such as the placement or degree of window tinting. Typically, an inspection takes about an hour. If your vehicle passes the inspection, you’re ready to hit the Maryland roadways. If it fails, however, you’ll need to schedule a service appointment with Hi-Tech Auto Repair right away for a re-inspection.

How do I acquire a Maryland State inspection for my vehicle?

To obtain Maryland State vehicle inspection safety certificate, you are required to have your vehicle inspected at a certified safety examination station in Maryland. The Maryland State Police has accredited roughly 1,600 State inspection facilities in multiple locations throughout the state. To be safe, continually inquire whether or not the station has the correct authorization to test your vehicle.

What happens if your vehicle fails a Maryland State Inspection?

If your vehicle fails its inspection, you’re going to need to make repairs or changes to ensure it meets safety standards or falls within legal criteria. Upon failing, you’ll be given a list of specific reasons as to why your vehicle failed, and Hi-Tech Auto Repair can addressed those issues right away. Keep in mind that from the date of a failure, you have 30 days or 1,000 miles to complete repairs. If you take longer than these limits to return for re-inspection, you’ll have to start the process over!

When do you need an Maryland State Inspection?

Unlike other states that mandate annual or bi-annual vehicle inspections, Maryland only requires that your vehicle be inspected on two occasions:

If your vehicle is registered in another state and you’re seeking to transfer registration to Maryland. You have 60 days to complete the registration and pass inspection in this situation.

If, as a Maryland resident, you buy or receive a used car as part of a transaction, it must pass inspection within 90 days of transferring the title. Even if the car was inspected previously that year, the transaction triggers a need for inspection.

Getting the repairs done to pass the Maryland State Inspection

Hi-Tech Auto Repair is also a Maryland State-Authorized Inspection Center, which means we’re equipped to provide you with testing services in the event you need them. And, if your vehicle fails, we’re standing by to provide the repairs needed to ensure it passes inspection the next time.

If you’re the proud owner of a new-to-you vehicle, make sure you’re setting up an inspection appointment. Hi-Tech Auto Repair is ready to take care of the inspection and any subsequent repairs you may need to hit the road with peace of mind.

Frequently Asked Questions about Maryland State Inspections

What if my car fails the Maryland State Inspection?
You have 30 days or 1000 miles whichever comes first to have the repairs completed. If you exceed either the 30 days or 1000 miles your vehicle will need to be re-inspected again
Can I get temporary tags until the repairs are completed?
Temporary tags are given through the motor vehicles administration in Maryland.
What happens once my car passes inspection?
Once we complete your inspection all the results along with vehicle information is sent to the motor vehicles administration electronically.
Can Hi-Tech Auto repair complete the work needed to pass the inspection?
Yes, Hi-Tech Auto has the expertise to perform all repair work related to the Maryland State Inspection.
Will I be able to get a copy of the test for my records even though they are electronically transferred to the MVA?
Yes, we would be happy to print out the results or we could email them to you directly if you prefer.
How Long does an average Maryland State inspection take?
Generally, a safety inspection takes about an hour.
Is the Maryland State Inspection the same as the Maryland Emmissions inspection?
No, the safety inspection is done to test all the safety components of your automobile. The Emissions test are done to determine pollutant emissions from your engine. You can learn more about Emission services on our Emissions page.